Each year, The Motion Picture Club awards one of its members
with the Nat Stern Outstanding Service Award. The honoree is someone who exemplifies
the spirit of dedication and selfless humility shown by Nat so many years ago.
Nat Stern started as a file room clerk for Paramount Pictures in 1940. He joined the armed forces in 1941 and saw active duty in the South Pacific. Upon his return from the Army he went back to work at Paramount Pictures in their booking department. Nat had a big heart and a keen mind. He rose up the corporate ladder to head booker and office manager, to sales manager and then to division manager. He was called "the professor" by many in our industry. His knowledge of every theatre in his division under his jurisdiction was uncanny. He was often called upon by his peers for opinions and advice...he was never too busy to listen.
Many of today's executives came to Nat and worked in his branch as neophytes. Under his guidance and teachings they rose to top positions and very successful careers. To name just a few: Dan Fellman, Tom Sherak, Bruce Snyder, Frank Patterson, Sr., Joe Curtin, Steve Turner, and Pam Araujo.
Nat never held an office in the forty years that he was a member of the Motion Picture Bookers Club, however, he was an integral part in the progress and success of our organization. He worked behind the scenes promoting every project we had and was a key reason for the success we enjoy today. He did this without fanfare or seeking any recognition for his unselfish contributions. It is in this spirit that we honor his memory annually with a service award in his name.

2014 Rose Devery
2013 Debbie Walsh
2011 John Spinello
2010 David Atlas
2008 Lydia Cole
2007 Jim Amos
2006 Craig Zeltner
2005 Seth Leifer
2004 Richard Tabin
2003 Eileen Dougherty
2002 Ira Miller
2001 William R. Thompson
2000 Millie Gautier
1999 Ted Cooper
1998 Ron Lesser
1997 Nick Guadagno
1996 Jared Mestre
1995 Paul Scheib
1994 Marvin Friedlander
1993 Millie Tramontano
1992 Clarice Hausman
1991 Sid Rubinstein & Arleen West
1990 Linda Hogarty
1989 Selma Fried
1988 Grace Ganguzza & Agnes Moskos
1987 Dom Frascella
1986 William Frankle
1985 Ann Rosenbaum